SURPRISE! We're having a baby, due in early August. I'm writing this post in real time (1.9.16), but it's publishing late, for obvious reasons :)
How big is baby: The size of a kumquat, and a little more than an inch!
Movement: "The Bump" tells me the baby is moving its arms and legs like crazy, but I certainly can't feel anything yet!
How I'm feeling: This week has been dramatically better. I was really nauseated on Monday, but the rest of the week I felt like I had a lot more energy, a bigger appetite, and I was in a much better general state.
Symptoms: My nausea Monday was triggered when I gagged brushing my teeth in the morning--it wasn't the first time this had happened, and it's an incredible inconvenience. Thankfully, I was feeling significantly better by Tuesday. I've also noticed that sometimes my dinner makes me feel super full, bloated, and uncomfortable. I've been eating a single peppermint tum after dinner most nights, just to ease the discomfort. Lying in a ball on the couch is honestly the only solution. Oh, not sure if this counts as a symptom or not, but I've also noticed about 5 WHITE hairs since Christmas day. thankfully none are in my part, but MAN it makes me want to cry. My skin (scalp included) has also been incredibly dry, which could definitely be attributed to the cold, dry winter air, but it doesn't feel very good!
Diet/Cravings/Aversions: I've had a much better appetite this week, and I even felt up to standing in the kitchen to prepare (not cook) dinner on Tuesday night. On Saturday, I looked at Yasu and, very strangely, insisted that I NEEDED Cap'n Crunch cereal. WHAT? I've probably only had it 3 times in my entire life, and it definitely wasn't something my mother ever bought. BUT, the big bowl full was delicious. And now I have a big box that I'm needing to get through. Yasu also made me a milkshake one night this week, because I heard the word on tv and it just needed to happen. Now that I'm feeling better, and more food tastes, good, I'm thinking I need to definitely up my intake of greens and calm down with the unhealthy cravings!
Weight gain/loss: I think with my feeling better I'm definitely back to where I started. I also am really noticing some swelling in the stomach area--not sure I can call it a bump yet, but my body is definitely changing.
Sleep: Sleep is the same. I'm actively trying to teach myself to sleep on my side instead of my stomach, and it's not easy. I do think I'm adapting, though, and there were a couple nights I actually slept through the night!
Exercise: Despite my energy being up, the weather has been crappy, and I really haven't felt up to doing much, and all the advice on prenatal workouts is intimidating. I decided to order a couple PureBarre Prenatal workout dvds, since I've enjoyed the classes in the past. I think if I can get comfortable with these low-impact workouts at home, then I can eventually go to a class and be comfortable there. The dvds arrived today, so I'm [hopefully] going to try to do one tomorrow!
Exercise: Despite my energy being up, the weather has been crappy, and I really haven't felt up to doing much, and all the advice on prenatal workouts is intimidating. I decided to order a couple PureBarre Prenatal workout dvds, since I've enjoyed the classes in the past. I think if I can get comfortable with these low-impact workouts at home, then I can eventually go to a class and be comfortable there. The dvds arrived today, so I'm [hopefully] going to try to do one tomorrow!
My best moment of the week: I'm SO sick of keeping the secret, so I'm telling a couple close friends every couple of days until we're ready to announce on social media. Oh, and we facetimed and told my Grandma last Saturday, which was incredibly special--my dad was with her, and she was really just so excited! It's really hard to keep the most exciting thing in my life a surprise, so it has been fun to tell people and hear their reactions.
Yasu's thought of the week: Now that we are looking around for the "stuffs" we need to buy... This having baby deal is really expensive... How does everyone deal with having multiple kids without going bunkrupt?!?!?
What we're looking forward to: Making Baby H Public!! Also, still looking forward to a bump of any kind! And our next appointment is in 2 weeks, so we're really excited for that, too.
What we're looking forward to: Making Baby H Public!! Also, still looking forward to a bump of any kind! And our next appointment is in 2 weeks, so we're really excited for that, too.
No comments:
Post a Comment