SURPRISE! We're having a baby, due in early August. I'm writing this post in real time (12.5.15), but it's publishing late, for obvious reasons :)
How big is baby: The size of an appleseed, so about a quarter of an inch!
Movement: We're not even close...
How I'm feeling: So, so, so excited. Like honestly, I'm ready to burst--actually I have, as I'm the worst secret keeper. Probably a few too many people already know, but I think if anything bad were to happen, those are the people we'd be leaning on, anyway.
Symptoms: For the first few days, I was experiencing insatiable hunger. Like, all the time, non-stop hunger. It's settled down now, thankfully, and I feel like I'm back to normal with eating. I've definitely had some soreness in the boobs, like I've never experienced before--not ideal when I spend most of my time with a climby two-year-old. I had some definite nausea on Monday morning, when I thankfully had the morning off, which I've since attributed to not eating early enough. Since that morning, Yasu has been amazing and has brought me breakfast in bed before he leaves for work, so that I can get food in me as soon as I'm awake. Oh, and the supersonic smell--it's there.
Diet/Cravings/Aversions: GIVE ME ALL THE SPICY FOOD. All week long I've been craving spice--jalapeno chips, pepperjack cheese, tamales with mole sauce, and have been spicing up everything I'm eating at home! As for aversions, I had a very stinky encounter with raw cod the other day, which nearly killed me, but I was okay with it once it was cooked.
Weight gain/loss: No clue! The battery on our home scale is dead, so I've got nothing. However, I'm definitely feeling bloated and am incredibly uncomfortable in jeans. GIVE ME ALL THE LEGGINGS.
Sleep: I've been in a bad trend of waking up at 4am and struggling to fall back to sleep. It's really frustrating, but I wake up either hungry or needing to go to the bathroom, and then my mind starts spinning. This isn't all that uncommon for me, but it's certainly inconvenient.
Exercise: It hasn't been my best week, but it also hasn't been my worst. I got out for a couple walks and have been moving. The weather is supposed to be nicer this week, and my schedule should be a bit more open, so I'm hoping to get moving at least 3 days this week!
My best moment of the week: FINDING OUT! I took 3 tests last weekend--I was a couple days late and just felt a little weird, and lo and behold...Baby! It was the most exciting and terrifying moment all at once. I took two tests, then we went to Target to buy another from a different brand, as well as What To Expect When You're Expecting...because, freak out! I'm definitely pregnant!
Also, Yasu texted me on Thursday asking if I could knit baby something. There was an handmaid artisan fair going on in his office building, and he'd bought a couple skeins of super soft alpaca yarn. It was the most sweet and thoughtful thing, and I definitely teared up when he told me.
Yasu's best moment of the week: When the news came.
What we're looking forward to: My first prenatal appointment on Dec. 22. It honestly can't come soon enough.
What we're looking forward to: My first prenatal appointment on Dec. 22. It honestly can't come soon enough.

No comments:
Post a Comment